Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Judge, Sabathia, Astros honored by New York baseball writers

November 9, 2017
Associated Press

NEW YORK (AP) — Yankees slugger Aaron Judge and the World Series champion Houston Astros are the big winners in awards voting by the New York chapter of the Baseball Writers' Association of America.

Judge was selected New York player of the year Wednesday and also will receive the Joe DiMaggio Toast of the Town award at the chapter's annual dinner on Jan. 28 in Manhattan.

Astros ace Justin Verlander and second baseman Jose Altuve shared the Babe Ruth award as postseason MVP. Houston center fielder George Springer, the World Series MVP, was honored with the Arthur and Milton Richman You Gotta Have Heart award for overcoming a severe stutter. Astros shortstop Carlos Correa will receive the Joan Payson/Shannon Forde award for community service after leading hurricane relief efforts in his native Puerto Rico.

Yankees pitcher CC Sabathia gets the Ben Epstein/Dan Castellano Good Guy award.


More AP baseball:



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web