Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Westfield-Ripley-Chautauqua Lake grabs two victories

December 10, 2015
Westfield Republican

WRCL 60, Dunkirk 18

DUNKIRK (Dec. 2) - Westfield-Ripley-Chautauqua Lake (1-0) earned a season-opening 60-18 CCAA Division 1 wrestling win over Dunkirk-Silver Creek (0-1) Dec. 2 at Dunkirk Senior High School, taking five matches by pin, two by decision and four by forfeit.

At 106 pounds, WRCL's Brendon Rowe took care of Dunkirk-Silver Creek's Christian Bray in 5:14 while at 145, WRCL's Mark Ecklund won in 51 seconds over Dunkirk's Pedro Vargas. Elsewhere, Armundo Arce (160), Ben Szymonowski (195) and Kendall Carlson (220) won in 2:37, 46 seconds, and 3:15, respectively.

Arce defeated Anthony McWillson, Szymonowski beat Shawn Milliman and Carlson took care of Anthony Ortiz.

Winning by decision were Austin Bourgeois (120) and Cale Gilbert (152). Bourgeois beat Brad Yochum, 9-2, while Gilbert won 7-0 over Kenny Pisa. Elijah Gerber (99), Jake Seaburg (113), Derek Ecklund (126) and Noah Dorman (132) all won by forfeit.

For Dunkirk, Malique Carter (182) pinned Tommy Adolph in 3:02 and Nick Jones (285) pinned Nate Wilson in 59 seconds. Also for the Marauders, Billy Seiders won his match at 138, 4-3, over Bryce Rowe and David Avila (170) edged Dylan Gross, 6-5.

WRCL 59, Akron 18

AKRON (Dec. 4) - Westfield-Ripley-Chautauqua Lake won 11 of its final 13 matches Friday night at Akron High School to earn a 59-18 non-league wrestling meet.

After Akron won the first two matches, WRCL's Kendall Carlson pinned Ethan Schleef in 4:20 to win the match at 220 pounds. A string of four forfeits followed, before Austin Bourgeois won a 16-6 major decision over the Tigers' Thomas Fischer in the match at 120. Derek Ecklund (126) and Bryce Rowe (132) made it eight wins in a row, as Ecklund pinned Anthony Brandl in 2:53 while Rowe took care of Johnathan Fiebelkorn, 14-0.

WRCL's remaining wins came from Mark Ecklund (145), Kale Gilbert (152) and Armando Arce. Mark Ecklund pinned Darren Allee in 1:27, Gilbert defeated Robbie Pequeen, 9-6, and Arce pinned Jared Hawes in 2:34.

Nate Wilson (285), Brendon Rowe (99), Elijah Gerber (106) and Jake Seaburg (113) all won by forfeit.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web