Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

C-S-P’s Sullivan, Odell named to all-state cross country teams

January 8, 2016
By Scott Kindberg ( , Westfield Republican

SYRACUSE - The Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Athletic Association is well-represented on the all-state cross country teams.

Released earlier this week by the New York State Sportswriters Association, the selections include one Class C first-teamer (senior Owen Barber of Allegany-Limestone); and two second-teamers (senior Ryan Hetrick of Maple Grove and junior Henry Sullivan of Clymer/Sherman/Panama), a third-teamer (senior Frank Zuroski of Maple Grove) and a fourth-teamer (senior Josh Odell of Clymer/Sherman/Panama), all in Class D.

Not surprisingly, their running resumes this fall made them worthy of the recognition.

Barber, the CCAA's Small School Runner of the Year, won the CCAA meet; and placed third at the states.

Hetrick, meanwhile, was a first-team CCAA choice; placed first in Class D at the sectional meet where the Red Dragons claimed the team title; and finished 13th at the states. He is joined on the all-state second team by Sullivan, a first-team CCAA selection, who turned in an 11th-place finish at the state meet.

Zuroski's third-team selection was the result of his CCAA first-team berth; his third-place finish at sectionals and an 18th-place finish at states. Odell completed the area runners on the all-state teams, courtesy of a first-team CCAA selection, and a 30th-place finish at the state meet.

Other runners from Western New York to earn all-state recognition were junior Connor Doran of Lockport (third team), senior Matthew Mercer of Orchard Park (fourth team) and senior Anthony Belfatto (seventh team) in Class A: senior Peter Rindfuss of Hamburg (first team), junior Chris Nowak of Sweet Home (second team) and freshman Ray Sambrotto of West Seneca West (fifth team) in Class B; and senior T.J. Murray of East Aurora (first team), sophomore Ian Russ of East Aurora (third team), and senior Matt McLaughlin (fourth team), senior Will Zink (fourth team) and Kevin Murnock (fourth team), all of East Aurora, in Class C.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web