Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Ecklund is Most Outstanding Wrestler as Thunderbirds win tourney

January 14, 2016
Westfield Republican

RIPLEY - Chautauqua Lake/Panama/Westfield with four wrestling champions, including the Most Outstanding Wrestler Mark Ecklund, and two second-place finishes claimed the annual Ripley Invitational Saturday night.

Ecklund won at 132 pounds by flattening Dominic Crouse of Sweet Home in 1:15 as the Thunderbirds took the 14-team field with 231.5 points followed by Sweet Home with 165.5 points, Randolph with 162 points, Depew/Cleveland Hill with 116 points and Dunkirk with 115.5 to round out the top five.

Edgewood, Ohio, was sixth with 86 points with Orchard Park next at 70 points followed by Erie East with 60 points, Southwestern with 55.5 points, Iroquois, Pennsylvania, with 48 points, Erie Strong Vincent with 32 points, Central Tech with 26 points, Frewsburg with 24 points and Fredonia with seven points.

Article Photos

Submitted Photo
The Chautauqua Lake wrestling team shows off the championship trophy after winning the Ripley Invitational Tournament on Saturday, Jan. 10. In the front are Jake Seaburg, Brendon Rowe, Derek Ecklund and Noah Dorman. In the second row are Bret Babcock, Bryce Rowe, Mark Ecklund, Corbin Brown, Kale Gilbert, Armondo Arce and Austin Bourgeious. In the back row are Trey Hoyt, Kendall Carlson, Ben Symanowski, Tommie Adolph and Dylan Gross.

Earlier, Ecklund had two pins for Chautauqua Lake in 3:14 over Mark Lindquist of Randolph and in 4:34 over Kamron Urbino of Depew/Cleveland Hill.

Other Chautauqua Lake/Panama/Westfield winners were Ken Gilbert (145 pounds) over Nick Mest of Southwestern, 5-3; Fan Favorite award winner Bryce Rowe (126 pounds) over Anthony Pilot of Sweet Home, 2-0; and Armando Arce (152 pounds) prevailed over Mo Amin of Sweet Home, 8-0.

Finishing second for Chautauqua Lake/Panama/Westfield were Tommie Adolph (170 pounds) who lost to Marshall Johnson of Randolph, 11-1, and Austin Bourgeois (113 pounds) who lost to Matt Evans of Randolph, 8-2.

Along with Johnson and Evans, Randolph had three other champions in Ben Hvizdzak (195 pounds), who decisioned Joe Cilento of Sweet Home, 7-6; Dakota Parkhurst (120 pounds), who pinned Rocco Giannicki of Orchard Park in 2:47; and Marcus Evans (99 pounds), who went 3-0 to earn the crown.

Billy Seiders (138 pounds) of Dunkirk won his title by beating Giuseppe Hoose of Southwestern, 3-1, and Alex Jones (285 pounds), also of Dunkirk took his weight class by decisioning Tim Short of Depew/Cleveland Hill, 3-0.


99: 1. Marcus Evans (Randolph), 2. Dominic Certo (Southwestern).

106: 1. Yasser Eselajh (Sweet Home), 2. Brandon Wallace (Fredonia).

113: Matt Evans (Randolph) d. Austin Bourgeois (Chautauqua Lake/Panama/Westfield), 8-2.

120: Dakota Parkhurst (Randolph) p. Rocco Giannicchi (Orchard Park), 2:47.

126: Bryce Rowe (Chautauqua Lake/Panama/Westfield) d. Anthony Pilot (Sweet Home), 2-0.

132: Mark Ecklund (Chautauqua Lake/Panama/Westfield) d. Dominic Crouse (Sweet Home), 8-2.

138: Billy Seiders (Dunkirk) d. Giuseppe Hoose (Southwestern), 3-1.

145: Ken Gilbert (Chautauqua Lake/Panama/Westfield) d. Nick Mest (Southwestern), 5-3.

152: Armando Arce (Chautauqua Lake/Panama/Westfield) d. Mo Amin (Sweet Home), 8-0.

160: Joe Galvin (Iroquois) d. Alton Ingram (Dunkirk), 12-1.

170: Marshall Johnson (Randolph) md. over Tommie Adolph (Chautauqua Lake/Panama/Westfield), 11-1.

182: Silas Garrison (Depew/Cleveland Hill) d. Malique Carter (Dunkirk), 7-1.

195: 1. Ben Hvizdzak (Randolph), 2. Joe Cilento (Sweet Home).

220: Matt Elridge (Depew/Cleveland Hill) d. Manny Colon (Sweet Home), 1-0.

285: Alex Jones (Dunkirk) d. Tim Short (Depew/Cleveland Hill), 3-0.


99: 3. Brendon Rowe (Chautauqua Lake/Panama/Westfield), 4. Braiden Waddington (Frewsburg).

106: 3. Beb Rogernasser (Sweet Home), 4. Carter Peet (Randolph).

113: Jawon Carr (Edgewood) d. Jake Seaburg (Chautauqua Lake/Panama/Westfield), 8-4.

120: Dylan Rowe (Chautauqua Lake/Panama/Westfield) won via injury default over Brad Yochim (Dunkirk).

126: Derek Ecklund (Chautauqua Lake/Panama/Westfield) d. Chase Stevenson (Southwestern), 3-1.

132: Kamron Urbino (Depew-Cleveland Hill) d. Ammar Esaiah (Sweet Home), 6-1.

138: Jaron Carr (Edgewood) p. Adam Dagistahni (Sweet Home), 0:22.

145: Tavion Renfro (Depew-Cleveland Hill) p. Tony Desko (Central Tech), injury default.

152: Clark Willsie (Frewsburg) d. Bonsie Ndagazia (Edgewood), 7-5.

160: Kane Palron (Erie Strong Vincent) p. Soloman Brown (Orchard Park), 3:58.

170: Dylan Gross (Chautauqua Lake/Panama/Westfield) d. Michael Klugh (Edgewood), 6-1.

182: Tim Darling (Orchard Park) d. Hason Said (Sweet Home), 3-2.

195: 3. Kendall Carlson (Chautauqua Lake/Panama/Westfield), 4. Jacob Tackell (Frewsburg).

220: Bret Morrison (Orchard Park) p. Jacob Zachar (Randolph), 2:44.

285: Nick Becker (Randolph) p. Youssel Ibrahian (Sweet Home), 2:39.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web