Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Best in the west

Westfield’s Wilson wins MVP, four teammates make First Team

June 9, 2016
Westfield Republican

Fresh off their Section VI Class D high school baseball title, the Westfield Wolverines were well represented on the Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Athletic Association West II All-Star team.

Westfield's Jonathan Wilson, who finished the regular season with a .600 batting average, was named the league's Most Valuable Player, while his coach, Doug Kaltenbach, was named the Coach of the Year.

Wolverines junior Max Bates had a .421 batting average this season while teammates Greg Schroeder hit .362 and Trevor North had a .326 batting average. Joining those three on the first team was fellow Wolverine Taylor Erwin, who hit .303.

Article Photos

?File photos
Pictured at left is Westfield’s Jonathan Wilson.?At right is Brocton’s Ryan Johnson. Wilseon was named the CCAA?West II?Player of the Year while Johnson was named to the First Team.

The Brocton Bulldogs had a stellar season, and were rewarded with three players on the first team, led by Ryan Johnson, who hit an astounding .547. Fellow senior teammate, Steven Krystofiak hit a .404 while Alec Chelton hit .463 to earn their respective spots on the First Team.

The Cassadaga Valley Cougars were represented on the First Team by Connor Crabtree (.385) and Tyler Simpson (.393).

Also making the First Team were Clymer's Adam Honey (.259), Sherman's Chris Robson and Panama's Tanner Newman (.394).

Westfield had four players make the Second Team, led by Joseph Quagliana (.311), Eric Fermier (.326), Chris Catalano (.265) and Brock Schuster (.240).

The Bulldogs had three players selected to the Second Team. Sophomore Charlie Rexford led the charge with a .510 batting average while seniors Kole Wisecarver (.286) and Robbie Gugino (.345) were named to the Second Team.

For Cassadaga Valley, juniors Caleb Hillman (.375) and Jacob Peterson (.348) secured their spot on the Second Team.

Also making the Second Team were Clymer's Dylan Neckers (.333), Dylan Davis (.346), Sherman's Harrett Bates (.324) Kolby Parks (.308) and Panama's Nolan Eggleston (.333).

Following are the players who made the Honorable Mention list:

Brocton: John Spicer, Garrett McFadden, Devin Drummond, Jordan Krystofiak and Peter Dolce.

Cassadaga Valley: Caleb Kuber, Adam Goot and Colin Barmore.

Clymer: Josh Summers, Sam Wiggers and Jordan Wade.

Sherman: Kyle Carpenter.

Panama: Josh Eddy Ryan Joslyn and Tony Frangione.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web